Land Division

NOTICE: Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the Planning and Zoning Department has adjusted operations, moving to a remote work environment that will serve your needs. Essential face-to-face services will be limited to pre-scheduled appointments only. Please use the information on this page to contact us via phone or email and we will respond in a timely manner.

Calumet County Land Division Ordinance (Adopted February 16, 2010)

All proposed land divisions, which include minor subdivisions (creation of four or less lots) and major subdivisions (creation of five or more lots) located within Calumet County, incorporated and unincorporated areas, requires the approval of Calumet County. The management of land divisions is important because it protects communities from unplanned growth, protects the county’s groundwater from further contamination, and protects other environmentally sensitive features from disturbance.

For all land division inquiries, please contact the Planner.

Density Management, Cluster Subdivisions, & Shadow Platting

The land division ordinance regulates the number of lots that can be created on any given parcel of land through a practice called "Density Management." However, in some cases, the number of lots can be increased when the development is designed as a "Cluster Subdivision." Cluster Subdivisions promote open space and contiguous lots. They are more suitable in areas where public sewer and water is not available.